Tory Gates: Meet the Author at Indie Book Source

Go inside the literary mind of Tory Gates. Watch his archived interview on Meet The Author Podcast, hosted by Rob and Joan Carter at Indie Book Source.

A broadcaster for more than thirty years, Tory Gates has seen and done just about everything in the radio business. Currently, Tory can be found hosting and producing music, talk and sports programs across Central Pennsylvania.

He hosts The Brown Posey Press Show, a program for authors on the BookSpeak Network, and is also known as DJ`Riff, host of The Music Club for the London-based Radio-Airwaves Station.

Tory is the author of four books. The latest, Searching for Roy Buchanan is available on Brown Posey Press, which was a First Place, Best in Category Finalist for the Dante Rossetti Award for Young Adult Fiction by Chanticleer reviews.

His 2016 release, A Moment in the Sun won First Place in the Young Adult division of the 2017 Red City Review Awards, and was a finalist for the Rossetti Award as well. His 2017’s Live from the Cafe was a Red City Review finalist in 2018.

His self-published debut, Parasite Girls is available through and Smashwords. His 2021 release is the sequel to Searching… entitled Call it Love.
Tory’s works are of young adult/crossover fiction, with exotic settings, but deal with real-life issues and social problems.

A native of Vermont, Tory lives in Harrisburg with his numerous cats. You can find him on Facebook, Twitter (@ToryGates), and in the nearest place that serves good coffee!

Tory Gates

Searching for Roy Buchanan

Aki Sato is a 15-year-old girl living in Tokyo with her two brothers, Kenji (20) and Hiro (16). Their parents are gone, killed in a train accident. Kenji has dropped out of school to take over the family business, which the others help in. All three are dealing with the loss differently…Kenji remains stolid and quiet, Hiro is dark, brooding and not very communicative, and Aki remains optimistic.

Aki’s deeper issue is the Amida Syndrome, which she inherited from her mother. Aki has the ability to time travel but has no training or experience in using it. Furthermore, Aki is beset by terrifying nightmares, including one in which she continues to hear a strange metallic sound.

A breakdown of the family truck leads to the incident that changes their lives forever. From the house comes that very sound. An investigation leads them to Kazu, an aging former blues musician. He agrees to teach Hiro guitar and becomes a mentor to Aki.

Kazu also is a traveler, and proves it by whisking them all to San Francisco of the 1960s, and infusing all of them with the blues, the music that so took him.

Aki decides to test her powers. A series of misadventure follows, as Aki brings her brothers to the Mississippi Delta of the 30s, London of the 60s, and pre-9/11 New York City, where they meet a legend who died before anyone knew his name.

Aki gains further understanding of her powers, and also discovers her own “voice.” The story ends in a unique manner, but leaves the door wide open to a future where the reader will ask, “What happens next? How did they do?”

Call It Love

Months have passed since Aki Sato discovered her time-traveling powers. Aki knows she cannot change the past nor can she solve her problems in the real world. Beset by fresh trauma, Aki feels there’s no way out. Her only hope comes from music and a voice that calls to her from her power of time travel.

When Aki agrees to help her brother Hiro start a new band, they are joined by two people that Aki can’t help but be attracted to: Kiya, a brilliant pianist and singer; and Zendo, a former monk and guitarist. Both bring their own musical skill and style, but Aki feels something from each that goes far beyond music.

Through friendship, trust, and new connections, Aki goes back in time to uncover a hidden past and to make an amazing discovery. Once more, she is reminded of the healing power of music, and people, in Call It Love.

, , , , , , ,

Related Posts