N. E. Brown: One of the Top 50 Indie Author Writers You Should Be Reading

Life is an adventure, and behind every experience is a story that waits to become her next novel.

N. E. Brown is an award-winning author and has published over eight novels. Her lifelong interest in Texas history inspires her to create true-to-life fictional characters from the past.

The Galveston, 1900, Indignities Series, is a six-book series that takes you on a journey through Texas history, as seen through the eyes of a young English woman

Carson Chance, P. I., Over the Edge, and The Rain Man Murders are Mrs. Brown’s latest Romantic Suspense novels and place you in the crossfires of solving crimes in the 1960’s and 1970’s in Dallas, Texas. She is currently writing book two in her Carson Chance series.

Mrs. Brown lives in East Texas with her husband and continues to write historical fiction. She believes that life is an adventure, and behind every experience is a story that waits to become her next novel.

N. E. Brown

The Rain Man Murders


Pounding rains flooded the rivers, streams, and lakes in Dallas, Texas, depressing the city, darkening the days, and leading to murder. Detective Mark Wilder had been weathering some storms of his own for a long time. The loss of his beloved several years ago remained stained deep into his heart. Detective Wilder was good at his job and then the storms came. The first body was found on the banks of the Trinity River, the rain wiping away any hopes of clues to the murderer.

One morning at a café, Mark meets Sarah Mason, a legal secretary, and is instantly drawn to her. Is it a coincidence she leads him to his first key piece of evidence? Before he can find out, another corpse is found on the banks of Bachman Lake. Again, the evidence is washed away by severe thunderstorms the previous night.

Sarah’s volunteer work at Calvary Baptist Church’s thrift shop connects her to the case. Her co-worker at the thrift shop may also, but Mark’s concern has more to do with the man’s abusive background and his unholy fascination with Sarah. Is he the man stalking her?

Although his and Sarah’s relationship deepens, and sparks fly, he can’t completely rule out her involvement. Especially when a third murder occurs on another rainy night and more evidence is discovered at the church.
Mark must solve these murders. He must stop whoever is murdering members of Calvary Baptist, and he must still the storms in his heart. He’s convinced of the first two, but even he wouldn’t bet on the last one.

Carson Chance, PI

Over the Edge

The sixties were full of hippies, hitchhiking, drugs and war. A chance meeting on a road trip to Dallas finds twenty-four-year-old Carson Chance smitten with a young female hitchhiker he gives a ride to. Sparks fly as the two loners reach out to each other for companionship. Is she who she says she is? Maybe, Maybe not.

One review says, “He’s a Vietnam vet fighting the demons he couldn’t leave behind. Hitchhiker Amy is running from an abusive step-father. Two damaged people thrown together, trying to make it through life. But Carson Chance P.I. is more than a run-of-the-mill romance story.

“This tension-filled book grabbed my interest as it portrayed two human souls struggling through problems that brought them to an understanding of the power of love.

“Author N. E. Brown delves deep into her characters’ emotions and produces a satisfying experience for her readers.”

Indignities: The Arrival

After arriving in Galveston, Texas, from England, at the turn of the century, a young courageous fifteen-year-old girl old, Catherine Eastman must face a new life in an orphanage after her mother is murdered by a drifter shortly after they arrive.

The drifter, David Brooks, has his own dark past and a passion for prostitutes and beautiful women and often leaves them dead. A young man, ten years older than Catherine, gets permission to marry her and take her from the orphanage on her sixteenth birthday.

Love and passion ignite as the two fall in love. Catherine becomes Brooks’ next conquest, and after he abducts and violates her, he is caught and sent to a prison farm. All of this is happening while the city of Galveston is blithely unaware of the devastation that waits in the near future.

By 1900, a monstrous hurricane is brewing in the gulf that will kill thousands and threaten to wipe the city off the map forever.

Indignities: The Aftermath

The physical and emotional journey of Catherine Merit continues in Book 2 of the Indignities Trilogy. A must-read historical fiction packed with dark suspense, emotion, and romance. Following the aftermath of the Galveston Storm, Catherine Merit is faced with new dangers.

After putting her past behind her, a year later, Catherine is again recaptured by villain David Brooks and taken to Beaumont, Texas, to start a new life as Brook’s mail order, mute wife. Oil at Spindletop is discovered and the small town’s growth provides a good living for them as the undertakers.

Nine months later Catherine’s first son is born and she must leave him at a convent, afraid Brooks will kill him, too. The townspeople of Beaumont get fed up with Brooks’s underhanded dealings and his cheating leads to his death.

Catherine is befriended by a handsome oil scout, Alex Cooper, and he saves her life. Once Catherine is free, she returns to Galveston only to learn that her husband, John Merit, had her declared dead, and married an older socialite who likes to spend his money.

Complications arise and Catherine is faced with new issues as she tries to begin her life alone at the age of twenty with two sons. Catherine and Alex finally marry, but more tragic circumstances threaten their future and leave Catherine faced with trying to deal with the indignities of her past and the future of her children.

Indignities: The Atonement

Emotionally and physically drained of energy after being in captivity for almost two years, Catherine Merit’s struggles to rebuild her and her children’s lives, continue in Book 3 of the Indignities Trilogy. After her first husband, John Merit, dies of a terminal disease, Alex Cooper, her second husband, who suffered a gunshot wound to his head, loses his memory and asks to have their marriage annulled, even though she is pregnant with their third child.

She is befriended by a young doctor, Samuel Allen, who delivers her third child and their love blossoms as they begin an on again, off again heated love affair. Catherine returns to medical school and graduates in the top five percent of her class.

While working at St. Mary’s Hospital, gossip and rumors about her ill-fated past cause her to be discharged from the hospital where she works. Unable to find work in Galveston, she moves to the small town of Rosenberg, Texas, and opens a clinic.

She meets a powerful man named Michael Atwood, who’s interested in finding out about Catherine’s past. After moving, she discovers Alex Cooper is now married to Atwood’s sister, and also lives in the same town.

Trying to balance life with her children, being the town’s new doctor, and keeping her past a secret, she find’s new challenges await…

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Related Posts

Join our mailing list & RECEIVE

a free Ebook Download

Chasing Love 

    Join our mailing list & RECEIVE

    a free Ebook Download

    Chasing Love 

      Join our mailing list & RECEIVE

      a free Ebook Download

      Chasing Love