Eileen Thornton: One of the Top 50 Indie Writers You Need To Be Reading

If you like lovely, light mysteries with a clever amateur sleuth who can be too nosy but always kind, you will love the Agnes Lockwood series.

Though I now live in Kelso in the Scottish Borders, I was born and brought up on Tyneside; the setting for my last three novels. Once a Geordie, always a Geordie, as the saying goes.

I only began writing in 2001, but many of my short stories and articles have been published in national magazines here in the UK. But then I felt the urge to move on to writing something with a little more grit.

Therefore, my first novel, The Trojan Project, is an all-action thriller. During the writing process, I felt I was on the ride of my life, as I added so many spine-chilling incidents. I was determined to grab the readers’ attention from the very beginning and give them the roller-coaster read of their lives.

Since then, I have turned to writing women’s fiction. with Divorcees.Biz, a novel of fun and romance, shortly followed by, Only Twelve Days, a heart-warming romance.

However, after deciding to turn my hand to writing a series of cozy murder mysteries, I chose my hometown as the setting. Murder on Tyneside – Agnes Lockwood Mysteries Book 1, was released in December 2016, with Agnes as the new sleuth on Tyneside. Death on Tyneside (Book 2) came next and more recently Vengeance on Tyneside (Book 3)

Hopefully, there will be a Book 4 in the series. How could I possibly let Agnes Lockwood down, when she has given me so much fun – she is part of me now.

If you would like to contact me, I have a website: www.eileenthornton.com.

Eileen Thornton


Murder on Tyneside

Recently widowed Agnes Lockwood is spending a few days on Tyneside in Northeast England, catching up with her past. When expensive jewelry is stolen at the hotel, Chief Inspector Alan Johnson gets on the case.

After Alan recognizes Agnes as a friend from schooldays, they rekindle their friendship and Agnes bombards him with questions about the case. But after dinner one evening, they find a body lying on the roadside.

Fearing for her safety, Alan warns Agnes to stay away from the case. But being an inquisitive woman, Agnes cannot resist getting involved… too involved.

Death on Tyneside

Agnes Lockwood returns to Tyneside, only to stumble across another dead body.

On her first visit, she helped the police solve a murder and gained quite the reputation as an amateur sleuth. Now, she is simply looking forward to meeting again with Alan Johnson, a D.C.I. with the Newcastle police force.

She is hoping their relationship will continue to blossom, but on her first day back in the city, she gets caught up in another murder.

And this time, her intrusion into the police investigation pushes Alan Johnson’s patience to the very limit.

Vengeance on Tyneside

Two young women are stabbed to death in Tyneside. But what’s the connection?

After a trip to the coast, Agnes Lockwood is shocked when she finds a young woman tucked away behind the litter bins in Newcastle Central Station. DCI Alan Johnson and Sergeant Andrews quickly set up an investigation.

They soon learn that this is only the first case of its kind, when another stabbing takes place on the Newcastle quayside. Naturally, Agnes is keen to help with the investigation.

DCI Johnson insists that she stays away from the case, but Agnes has never been a woman to be put off so easily.

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Related Posts