Featured: Music Shall Untune the Sky by Lou Kemp

Featured: Music Shall Untune the Sky by Lou Kemp Purchase:

Music Shall Untune the Sky is a steampunk fantasy filled with murder, magic, and adventure.

A magician, a widower from the Sudan, and an automat travel the world.

It’s 1867 and three close friends; the immortal magician Celwyn, the automat Professor Xiau Kang, and Bartholomew, a scientist and widower from Sudan, set out on another adventure as they travel to Singapore to fetch the professor’s wife.

Prepare to explore a world reminiscent of our own yet filled with magic and steampunk!

Their private, magically enhanced train, the Elizabeth, is carrying them through the countryside when they witness the purposeful crash of a hot air balloon next to them.

Jules Verne emerges from it and joins their party.

As they continue east, the danger following the author shadows their train, and the murders begin.

When they arrive in Singapore, Captain Nemo uses a unique method to trick Professor Kang into climbing aboard the Nautilus.

Lou Kemp

Meet Lou Kemp:

Early work was horror and suspense, later work morphed into a combination of magical realism, mystery and adventure painted with a horrific element as needed.

I’m one of those writers who doesn’t plan ahead, no outlines, no clue, and I sometimes write myself into a corner. Atmospheric music in the background helps. Black by Pearl Jam especially.

More information is available at LouKemp.com. I’d love to hear from you and what you think of Celwyn, Bartholomew, and Professor Xiau Kang.


2009 The anthology story Sherlock’s Opera appeared in Seattle Noir, edited by Curt Colbert, Akashic Books. Available through Amazon or Barnes and Noble online. Booklist published a favorable review of my contribution to the anthology.

2010 My story, “In Memory of the Sibylline,” was accepted into the best-selling MWA anthology Crimes by Moonlight, edited by Charlaine Harris. The immortal magician Celwyn makes his first appearance in print.

2018 The story, “The Violins Played before Junstan” is published in the MWA anthology Odd Partners, edited by Anne Perry. The Celwyn series begins.

Present My new publisher, 4 Horsemen, has reissued book 1 of the Celwyn series: The Violins Played before Junstan.

The remaining books in the series: Music Shall Untune the Sky, The Raven and the Pig, The Pirate Danced and The Automat Died, will debut, beginning in 2023.

The companion book, Farm Hall, will be reissued in 2023 where readers will see more of Pelaez, another immortal magician and Celwyn’s brother.

A standalone, Sea of the Vanities is due out in 2023.

Please click HERE to find Music Shall Untune the Sky on Amazon,