Featured: Eulogy in Black and White

Featured: Eulogy in Black and White Purchase:

It is the official launch day of Eulogy in Black and White, book two in a multi-author series about the Crime Chronicles of Magnolia Bluff.

Death Stalks a Small Town.

Magnolia Bluff waits.

With apprehension.

With dread.

With terror.

May twenty third is coming.

Somebody always dies on May twenty-third.


No one knows.

A killer walks in the shadows.

The killer is ready to strike again.

Please click HERE to find Eulogy in Black and White on Amazon.

Caleb Pirtle III

From Caleb Pirtle III

Today is the day I can officially welcome you to my streets of Magnolia Bluff, a small town in the Texas Hill Country.

It is the official launch day of Eulogy in Black and White, book two in a multi-author series about the Crime Chronicles of Magnolia Bluff.

Is the town real?

To me and to nine other authors producing books in the series, Magnolia Bluff is as real as it gets. CW Hawes kicked it off last month with Death Wears a Crimson Hat. The whole town is his idea anyway.

We’ve lived there.

We’ve walked the streets.

We’ve had coffee at Silver Spoon or The Really Good Wood-Fired coffee shop or sipped a little whiskey at LouEllen’s Lounge. We’ve fished in Burnet Reservoir or maybe spent the night at the Flower Bed and Breakfast, attended churches pastored by the Reverend Ember Cole, Billy Bob Baskin, or Father Lee. We’ve met the ladies of the Crimson Hat Society and mourned the loss when murder strikes. We depend on Sheriff Buck Blanton to keep the peace. That’s a tough job in Magnolia Bluff.

Now a drifter comes to town, Graham Huston.

Why is he in town?

Nobody has any idea.

Why does he spend so much time in the cemetery?

It’s anybody’s guess.

And how does he wind up as editor of the Magnolia Bluff Chronicle?

He’s never written a newspaper story in his life.

Doesn’t know how.

Writes anyway.

And why does somebody always die a mysterious death on May 23?

The truth is hidden within the pages of Eulogy in Black and White.

About Caleb Pirtle III

Caleb Pirtle III lives in the present but prefers the past. He is the author of more than eighty books, including four noir thrillers in the Ambrose Lincoln series: Secrets of the Dead, Conspiracy of Lies, Night Side of Dark, and Place of Skulls. Secrets and Conspiracy are also audiobooks on audible.com.

All of the novels are set against the haunting backdrop of World War II. His Lonely Night to Die features three noir thrillers in one book, following the exploits of the Man on the Run a rogue agent who has fled the CIA. He takes the missions no one else wants. He is expendable, and he knows it.

His award-winning Boom Town Saga includes Back Side of a Blue Moon, the story of a con man who comes to a dying East Texas town during the Great Depression, promises to drill for oil, and falls in love with a beautiful woman who just may have killed her husband. In Bad Side of a Wicked Moon, the lawless have come to the oil patch, and justice has left town.

Pirtle also wrote Friday Nights Don’t Last Forever, the story of a high school quarterback whose life spins into turmoil during his entanglements with illegal college recruiting, and Last Deadly Lie is the chilling story of the gossip and scandal that threatens to break a church apart in the midst of greed, jealousy, and murder.

Pirtle is a graduate of The University of Texas in Austin and became the first student at the university to win the National William Randolph Hearst Award for feature writing. Several of his books and his magazine writing have received national and regional awards.

Pirtle has written two teleplays: Gambler V: Playing for Keeps, a mini-series for CBS television starring Kenny Rogers, Loni Anderson, Dixie Carter, and Mariska Hargitay, and The Texas Rangers, a TV movie for John Milius and TNT television. He wrote two novels for Berkeley based on the Gambler series: Dead Man’s Hand and Jokers Are Wild. He wrote the screenplay for one motion picture, Hot Wire, starring George Kennedy, Strother Martin, and John Terry.

Pirtle’s narrative nonfiction, Gamble in the Devil’s Chalk is a true-life book about the fights and feuds during the founding of the controversial Giddings oilfield and From the Dark Side of the Rainbow, the story of a woman’s escape from the Nazis in Poland during World War II. His coffee-table quality book, XIT: The American Cowboy, became the publishing industry’s third bestselling art book of all time.

Pirtle was a newspaper reporter for the Fort Worth Star-Telegram and served ten years as the travel editor for Southern Living Magazine. He was editorial director for a Dallas custom publisher for more than twenty-five years.