A Grave Matter by Anna Lee Huber

A Grave Matter by Anna Lee Huber Purchase:

    Some fiend is digging up old bones and holding them for ransom.

    Returning to her childhood home, Lady Kiera Darby hopes her beloved brother Trevor and the merriment of the Hogmanay Ball will distract her. But when a caretaker is murdered and a grave is disturbed at nearby Dryburgh Abbey, Kiera is once more thrust into the cold grasp of death.

    While Kiera knows that aiding in another inquiry will only further tarnish her reputation, her knowledge of anatomy could make the difference in solving the case. But agreeing to investigate means Kiera must deal with the complicated emotions aroused in her by inquiry agent Sebastian Gage.

    When Gage arrives, he reveals that the incident at the Abbey was not the first – some fiend is digging up old bones and holding them for ransom. Now they must catch the grave robber… before another victim winds up six feet under.

    Review by Gypsygirl:

    Anna Lee Huber
    Anna Lee Huber

    Anna Lee Huber’s books just keep getting better and better. Like the fist two in the Lady Darby series I could not put this book down. I wanted to leap into the book and become one of the characters, preferably Lady Darby herself, a pretty good sleuth, a talented painter, aristocrat and not bad on the eye.

    I love her family and of course her love interest and fellow sleuth and private investigator Sebastian Gage, life is never boring and neither was the book.

    I look forward to the next in the series.

    Review by Kimberly the Librarian:

    Lady Darby’s investigations continue in this third installment (the series begins with The Anatomist’s Wife). Kiera, still mourning the death of a close friend, returns to her childhood home to recover. She is not there long before a dead body and a missing skeleton drag both her and the dashing Sebastian Gage into the heart of another inquiry. New characters including a dangerous criminal and Kiera’s brother bring fresh problems and added activity into Kiera’s world.

    The murder is still well plotted, although the reader and even the characters are not as personally invested in its outcome. Red herrings abound but careful readers can certainly figure out the culprit and motive beforehand if reading carefully.

    Kiera and Mr. Gage’s relationship is as vital to the plot as the murder. Kiera’s growth in the last two books has been leading to her epiphanies in this novel, epiphanies about her past and future. The reader is also provided with deeper insight into Mr. Gage’s character and, just as important, the impact of familial relations in his life.

    Kiera and Gage felt less restricted in this book, less stolid. They were certainly better communicators, but Kiera does keep at least one event secret and I wonder if it will matter in the next novel. They were also able to spend almost every scene together, which added to my enjoyment.

    This novel certainly bodes well for a continuing series—I very much look forward to the fourth installment. Recommended for fans of Tasha Alexander’s Lady Emily or Deanna Raybourn’s Lady Julia.