Authors Showcase: The Manhattan Puzzle by Laurence O’Bryan

 

fincover

The Book: The Manhattan Puzzle

The Author: Laurence O’Bryan

The Story: A global puzzle. A secret symbol. A conspiracy that ends in death. Perfect for fans of Dan Brown’s Inferno.

An international cover-up that could change the course of history…

Sean has been tracking a symbol from another age. It provides a clue to a barbaric conspiracy. A puzzle with an answer feared for millenia.

When Isabel wakes to find Sean hasn’t come home she doesn’t worry. At first. But when the police turn up on her doorstep wanting to interview him, she has to make a decision.

Does she keep faith in him or does she believe the evidence?

The symbol Sean and Isabel have been chasing will finally be revealed in Manhattan as one of the greatest banks in the world totters. Can Isobel uncover the truth before time runs out…or will she too be murdered?

A thrilling, high-octane race to save civilisation that will engross fans of Dan Brown, David Baldacci and James Patterson.

About Laurence O’Bryan:

  • 61YZHQs165L._UX250_Short listed for Irish Crime Novel of the Year.
  • Top selling Irish crime author in many categories.
  •  #1 in Amazon charts twice, in two categories.
  • The Istanbul Puzzle is the first in a new series of mystery-thrillers. I visited Istanbul 6 times to research it. The next in the series, The Jerusalem Puzzle, is out too. It continues the story from The Istanbul Puzzle and features the same characters. The third in the series, The Manhattan Puzzle, arrived October 10, 2013.

Laurence was born in Dublin. He studied business, then IT at Oxford University. After going to England he paid for his own courses and began rising at 4 :00AM so he could study and work at the same time. One early job was as a kitchen porter near the Bank of England cleaning the plates of the well connected.

He stayed in squats in London and struggled for years. Laurence was first published by a school newspaper when he was ten, for a short story about aliens getting lost. Thirty-five years later, he attended a authonomy workshop and not long after was offered a publishing contract for three books.The New York Puzzle is his third novel.

Review by MHV: The opening chapter of The Manhattan Puzzle kicked me right in the face. That’s part of what this novel did to me as a whole: it doesn’t beat around the bush. It gets to the point. Yes, you can read The Manhattan Puzzle independently from the previous two “puzzle” novels by Lawrence O’Bryan – I know because I started with this one.

Don’t ask me why; I guess this title appealed the most to me. The promise of something hidden in the history of Mahattan and the involvement of modern times bankers was inviting to me. I read all sorts of fiction, though this genre is new to me. The Manhattan Puzzle has a kind of gothic quality; an unmistakable violence, a web of intrige involving both ancient -and bloody- rituals and 21st century finance.

That works out compelling here. Several things work out in favor of O’Bryan: he opens in the middle of serious and tone setting action; his chapters are short, sometimes even ultra; and the action is almost continuous. There’s this weird and attractive mixture of shock-story developments on the one hand and Wall Street calamity economics on the other. Bloody murder, and then all of a sudden there’s a slice of daily, post-Lehman life.

The end comes appropriately in apocalyptic form. And although I had been anticipating someting radical – the novel builds up to that – I certainly didn’t see this one coming. I must say the end worked well for me, because it was gross by my personal standards and it sure gave all control to the author. Of course I haven’t read the previous The Jerusalem Puzzle and The Istanbul Puzzle, so it’s probably not up to me to judge all character developments here.

In my opinion, if you’re looking for a thrilling, entertaining novel to read between more serious stuff, a novel that reads like a movie on paper, and is downright creepy at times, The Manhattan Puzzle could work for you. See what you think.

Review by BeCreativeKey: This Irish writer has done it again only this time he’s switched POV. Now it is Sean Ryan’s wife Isabel who is the heroine in the third “puzzle” edition and it turns out to be a very smart move. Women readers especially will enjoy the female perspective, the inner turmoil, the conflict and the rending of her heart as she faces some terrible decisions regarding her husband and her son.

I liked the pace, the short snappy descriptions, the fact that New York comes alive in front of your eyes. I also liked the very disturbing blood letting! Tension is well maintained in this author’s hands. He knows how to turn up the heat and keep you guessing.

All in all another great read from this accomplished Irish crime writer – how does such a small country keep turning out such compelling talent?

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Related Posts